DHC Ventures – Funding Opportunity for start-up companies in the Life Sciences

Research and Transfer

Research is the source of innovation; start-up companies stand for the successful transfer of research results to relevant contexts of application. In the Life Sciences, in particular, research transfer is difficult; development cycles are long, risky, and tied to high costs.

Whereas research funding schemes very often are excellent, venture capital for business start-ups and research transfer is scarce. In addition, complex regulatory requirements are in place even for early phases of innovation and product development. Start-ups and research groups attempting the transfer of results to medical, medical-technological, biotechnological, or pharmaceutical contexts of application face detailed GxP regulations to which they have to comply. An effective quality management following ISO rules or requirements defined by EMA, FDA or EU-GMP is required. Research groups and young companies, thus, have to overcome high regulatory barriers.

Start-up promotion

DHC Ventures promotes young companies and research groups on their way to company start-up. It assists them in setting up a digital management system at an early stage. The basis is the integrated management system DHC VISION. Early adoption of the software and its close integration with research and development ensures that a quality management system with regulatory compliance is in place at any time of during the innovation and founding cycle.

DHC Ventures targets research projects and research groups as well as young companies in the „early stages“ of founding (seed phase, start-up phase). Support is granted generally for a period of three years. Before the period of initial support ends, the partners decide on further conditions for either additional support or the regular productive use of the solution. The decision is taken mutually based on a transparent cost structure. It takes into consideration the company’s economic development (product development, market position, profitability etc.) and stability (acquisition of venture capital, company sale etc.).

DHC VISION „no license“

As no license fees will be charged, young companies are relieved of significant costs in a central area of operations. They are able to build a solid basis for a sustainable digital quality management system. Special conditions apply during the funding period to professional services for software implementation and validation as well as for services related to software maintenance and support.

DHC VISION “cloud” or „on premise“

DHC Ventures supports use of DHC VISION in the cloud. This results in low operating costs and no in-house IT operations. Data security is guaranteed. Alternatively, DHC offers an “on premise” solution. The software is hosted in the company’s own data center. DHC Ventures responds to the individual needs of start-up companies.

Learn more

DHC Ventures

Förderung von Start-ups in den Life Sciences

Forschung und Transfer

Forschung ist die Quelle der Innovation; erfolgreiche Start-ups stehen für den gelungenen Transfer von Forschungsergebnissen in die Anwendung. Gerade in den Life Sciences ist der Forschungstransfer in der Regel schwierig. Langwierige Entwicklungszyklen sind risikobehaftet und vielfach verbunden mit hohen Kosten.

Einer vielfach exzellenten Forschungsförderung steht häufig unzureichendes Risikokapital für Unternehmensgründung und Anwendungstransfer entgegen. Zusätzlich gelten komplexe regulatorische Anforderungen auch in den frühen Phasen von Innovation und Produktentwicklung. Selbst kleine Start-ups oder Forschungsprojekte am Übergang zur medizinischen, biotechnologischen, medizintechnischen oder pharmazeutischen Anwendung unterliegen engmaschigen GxP-Regularien. Ein effektives Qualitätsmanagement nach ISO-Regeln oder nach Vorgaben z.B. der EMA, der FDA oder gemäß EU-GMP für die Arbeit im Labor, in der Produktentwicklung und in der Produktion wird verlangt. Für Forschungsprojekte und junge Unternehmen sind das oft hohe Hürden.

Start-up-Förderung

DHC Ventures fördert junge Unternehmen oder Forschungsprojekte auf dem Weg zur Unternehmensgründung und unterstützt sie beim frühen Aufbau eines digitalen Qualitätsmanagements. Die Basis dafür ist das integrierte Managementsystem DHC VISION. Die frühe Einführung der Software und ihre enge Verzahnung mit Forschung und Entwicklung stellt ein regulatorisch konformes Qualitätsmanagement zu jedem Zeitpunkt im Innovations- und Gründungszyklus sicher.

DHC Ventures richtet sich an Forschungsprojekte und –gruppen bzw. junge Unternehmen in den „early stages“ (Seed-Phase, Start-up-Phase) der Unternehmensgründung. Die Förderung beträgt in der Regel drei Jahre. Nach Ablauf der Förderphase wird gemeinsam und auf Basis einer transparenten, vorab vereinbarten Kostenstruktur über die weitere Nutzung der Software und über die Konditionen der Nutzung entschieden. Grundlage dafür ist die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung des Unternehmens (Produktentwicklung, Marktdurchdringung, Profitabilität etc.) und seine Stabilität (Einstieg eines Investors, Unternehmensverkauf etc.) bzw. der erkennbare Bedarf an weiterer unterstützender Förderung.

DHC VISION „no license“

Die Förderung durch DHC Ventures umfasst die lizenzfreie Nutzung der Software: DHC VISION „no license“. Zu Beginn der Förderung werden der gewünschte Funktionsumfang von DHC VISION und die relevanten Add-on-Module definiert. In dieser Konfiguration wird die Software im Unternehmen eingeführt. Funktionale Erweiterungen während der Förderphase sind möglich.

Die Software wird ohne Berechnung von Lizenzgebühren genutzt. So werden junge Unternehmen von nicht unerheblichen Kosten in einem zentralen Leistungsbereich entlastet. Gleichzeitig entsteht eine solide Basis für ein zukunftsfähiges, digitales Qualitätsmanagementsystem. Sonderkonditionen gelten für Services zur Softwarepflege und Beratungsleistungen im Rahmen der Einführung und Softwarevalidierung.

DHC VISION in der “cloud” oder „on premise“

Bei Förderung durch DHC Ventures kann die Software DHC VISION als Cloud-Lösung genutzt werden. Günstige Betriebskosten und Entlastung von IT-Aufgaben sind die Vorteile. Die Datensicherheit ist gewährleistet. Alternativ ist ein „on premise“-Modell möglich. Dann wird die Software vom Unternehmen selbst in der unternehmenseigenen IT-Infrastruktur betrieben. DHC Ventures bietet die passende Lösung für jeden Bedarf.